top of page

Pharrell Williams Talks Race, Black Women, Social Justice and Jayne Kennedy

EBONY: Since you seem so supportive of Black women, how did it feel to be accused of intentionally choosing not to feature Black women on your GIRL album cover?

WILLIAMS: It’s OK, because we got to talk about it. There was one writer who got mad and didn’t recognize that a biracial girl was on the album cover. But then when they realized she was biracial it became, well she’s not dark enough. My wife is half Black; her mama is Black. What more do you want? I love Black women. If you don’t think I love Black women, then you don’t understand me. I have obsessed over Black women since the days of Jayne Kennedy, Beverly Peele and Roshumba Williams. Those were the women I daydreamed about growing up. So I found the controversy over my album cover funny, but I understood it. It only proved what I was saying earlier: We still got some more work to do.

Read more at EBONY http://www.ebony.com/entertainment-culture/pharrell-williams-talks-race-black-women-and-social-justice-cover-story#ixzz4T8TF54u6 Follow us: @EbonyMag on Twitter | EbonyMag on Facebook

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page